Monday, March 19, 2007

Frozen Bracketology

Dickie V doesn't talk much about the brackets going on for the NCAA Frozen Four, so I will do it for him as the selection committee has announced the NCAA hockey teams set for the national championship in St. Louis, MO.

As with the other tournament going on, you will find the NCAA hockey powerhouses back again to vie for the championship. St. Cloud State, Maine, Boston U., Minnesota, Notre Dame are just some of the competitors this season. But there are some surprises this year with Miami (Ohio) and St. Lawrence colleges.
The championship playoff format involves four predetermined regional sites with four teams assigned to each site. The four regional winners advance to the Men’s Frozen Four. The entire championship uses a single-elimination format.

Automatic qualification privileges are granted to the postseason champions of six conferences. The remainder of the field is selected at large.

The University of Minnesota, Twin Cities, was the No. 1 overall seed. The other No. 1 seeds, in order, included the University of Notre Dame, Clarkson University and the University of New Hampshire.
I like Notre Dame coming out against Alabama-Huntsville this year. But the ones to watch is were North Dakota and Minnesota and who survives that region to key the whole tournament.

They will first duke it out in East, Midwest, Northeast and West regional sections before meeting somewhere in the middle at the Scottrade Center in St. Louis, MO. The National Championship game is scheduled for April 7 at 7pm.

[Via: NCAA Sports]
Post a Comment